SLP client's behavior interfering with therapy
February 7, 2011 8:33 AM   Subscribe

Hi all, I'm an SLP grad student doing language-phonology clinic this semester and one of my client's behavior is getting in the way of therapy. She's 5.5 years old and is home schooled. It's quite clear there's no discipline at home and now I get to look totally incompetent for it. Any ideas about what I could do? This child spends most of the one-hour session mouthing off, spending 10 minutes on one sip of water to avoid work, pounding on the two-way glass (mom taps back, oy), and falling on the floor and telling me, "Me died." I've tried rewards but it seems she doesn't associate the rewards with anything. Just takes them and demands more.

Aaaaaaaaaand, since I'm here, any SLPs have any creative ways to teach children to answer questions with more than one word? I don't want to make the girl crazy with, "Let's hear that in a big, long sentence!" every time she says something. Help! Thank you all so much in advance, you were a huge help to me last time I had questions.
posted by RyG to Education (19 answers total)

One of the rationales behind clicker training animals is that the short, immediate "click!" makes it clearer to the animal what behavior is being rewarded. You do the click immediately, then give the reward. Giving a reward takes time -- you have to get it out of wherever it's stored, the recipient has to take it, then eat it, then swallow it -- so that by the time the reward cycle is completed, the association with the desired behavior is muted.

Plus, you can easily click multiple times in a short period. Also, once the click sound has a positive association, one doesn't necessarily have to give a food reward every time (at least with dogs; cats seem to be another matter).

You may be taking care of this verbally, but the click is less associated with the giver and seems more like a dispassionate, universal signal of good.

Maybe something to think about.