Lighting the Mac-Signal
January 19, 2011 9:27 AM   Subscribe

I'm a sysadmin for a small nonprofit. It's a mostly-mac shop, about 30 users and 4 servers. It's a pretty nice gig, but I'm largely flying solo on a lot of things, so I come to the hive mind asking what other "Mac Guys" are doing.

I've got two big questions:

1) With apple's discontinuation of the Xserve, is everyone stocking up on them before the end of the month, or have they resigned themselves to using Mac Pros despite the lack of LOM (and larger space requirements)?

2) We used Dantz (then EMC, now Roxio) Retrospect as our backup solution for years because it offered some features ( mainly, searching across backup sets) that we thought were necessary. We're still on version 6, which had been working well until about 10.6.5 or so, but now are considering upgrading to version 8, or working on a new solution altogether. We have a relatively new LTO3 drive that's fine for what it does, and ideally, we'd like to leverage that into whatever our new system is. So, what are you using for backups? If you're using Time Machine on a server volume, how do you handle keeping a set offsite?
posted by Oktober to Computers & Internet (5 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Mac Mini Server and learn to live without LOM. Time Machine for backups to a server volume, and rsync-over-ssh offsite in a cron job at night. You can be somewhat more clever than that if you need archival copies of your backups (week, month, year, etc) but it's pretty straightforward.

That, and Apple Remote Desktop is an absolute, no-questions must-have.
posted by mhoye at 9:44 AM on January 19, 2011

1) I've never used an Xserve at work. It's not LOM, but I can still access my servers via SSH and use top/whatever if necessary or use vnc remotely, from home if necessary.