A Guy Walks Into an Admissions Office...
January 13, 2011 7:54 AM   Subscribe

I'm a recent college graduate looking to go back to school--in an entirely different field. Did you do graduate work in something totally unrelated to your bachelor's? Please advise.

My undergraduate education was liberal arts-based and I got through it quickly. I now have an unrelated, technically demanding profession. Though I do enjoy my job, I feel unchallenged intellectually and creatively.

Recently I've been considering returning to school to study something completely out of my purview: electrical engineering. I feel like this might be my best course in order to pursue a calling in what fascinates me (namely, building robots). I could stay in my current field, but I believe I can do this. I'm financially and mentally ready to go back to school.

My original intention was to take some basic calculus and physics classes at the local college to prepare myself for transfer to a BS program. However, my former college adviser strongly urged me against this and told me to try for a master's somewhere that would allow me to take these as deficiency courses.

Following his advice, I met with my alma mater's graduate adviser in EE. He said that I was eligible for admission despite not having a previous science/engineering degree, since this is a state school (in CA) and they are more focused on giving students a chance. I would need to make up a lot of work, but he said I would get through their MS program faster than if I went back for a BS. This adviser thought it was fine for me to take some classes at the community college.

The obstacles:
1. I don't necessarily want to go back to that school.
2. One reason I want to go back at all is to push myself the way I never had to the first time around
2a. Because of this, I have a strong desire to attend a more prestigious university, possibly out of state (ex: CMU)
2b. Such schools do not accept graduate students without engineering BSes.