I'm looking to build an online store and would like to know how to handle the credit card transactions, from a developers point of view.
January 3, 2011 10:34 PM   Subscribe

I'm looking to build an online store and would like to know how to handle the credit card transactions, from a developers point of view.

Hello,

Well I'm a developer, but I've never actually connected a site to any type of payment system. I assumed there's services for this and I have vague knowledge of how that type of stuff usually works. I'll also be googling and researching myself, but if anyone has the 'things everyone should know' type of info that might help me get started... I'd really appreciate it!

What I would like is to create my site in PHP and MySQL. This would be for personal small business, such as selling arts and crafts.

I'd like to have as much control over the credit card transactions, but obviously there is a layer I'm not likely to control, which is the part the credit card is verified and money is transfered.

How does this work?

I assume there is some 'broker', basically some service somewhere I sign up with, and they supply me with some connection info.

I assume I can write my PHP and add the form, which is sent to some predetermined host IP, which handles the credit card transaction. I'd like to code as much myself, not relying on 3rd party unless it's diving into the bank's territory.

Ideally, I'd like to have something that can deposit into my personal bank account.

For instance, I want to create a test site right now, with just a field for credit card #, security code, name, zip code, etc. I want to put my own credit card number in for some test amount, say $10, and ideally, see it show up in my bank account.

I'm guessing it's not that simple ;P

I'm guessing I would also need to use a SSL service to encrypt the info.