Step #1: Buy a Mortar and Pestle
December 29, 2010 8:37 AM   Subscribe

Just got David Thompson's Thai Cooking and I'm overwhelmed! Where to start?

I just got a copy of Ask Mefi's favorite Thai cookbook and I can't wait to cook something out of it - but it's terribly overwhelming. I am an experienced home cook, and I'm not afraid to hunt for unusual ingredients or make something that is going to take all day, but this thing is still pretty damn intimidating.

Thai cooks - what are your favorite (authentic) Thai dishes? Fans of the book - what are your favorite recipes?

I'm also interested in what kind of modifications people make to Thompson's recipes - for instance, am I going to be upset if I throw 10 bird's eye chilies (/chillies) into a dish, like recipes often call for? Do I really need to crack and grate a whole coconut to get coconut cream, or can I use canned?
posted by rossination to Food & Drink (12 answers total) 16 users marked this as a favorite

This site explains coconut cream pretty well.

If ya open a good can of coconut milk ( we use Chef's Choice, no guar gum) the solids on top are essentially coconut cream don't know how many cans you'd have to separate for enough cream for a recipe though.
posted by Max Power at 8:55 AM on December 29, 2010

am I going to be upset if I throw 10 bird's eye chilies (/chillies) into a dish, like recipes often call for

Always make it like the recipe says the first time. You might be upset, but you'll also know what 10 birds eye chilies taste like.

My go-to Thai cookbook is called It Rains Fishes, and has a decent bunch of its chapters online, you can check it out over here (these days it's out of print and way too expensive to buy). There's extensive discussion of flavors and ingredients, especially if you follow all of the 'see also' links at the bottom of the chapters. It might be good supplementary information for you.