Losing my singing voice
April 9, 2005 10:23 PM   Subscribe

What has happened to my singing voice recently?

Recently, I have had difficulty singing. I'm no professional, but singing is something I enjoy doing. I have noticed in the past few months that when I first start to sing, my throat feels rough, and I have trouble keeping myself from coughing. I have tried drinking water, but that doesn't always work. I am not a smoker and have never been.

Could it just be as simple as a dry throat? I take lithium, which dehydrates me so that I need to drink quite a bit of water during the day. Does this sound like a dry throat issue, or could it be something else, since drinking water doesn't always help?
posted by veronitron to Health & Fitness (9 answers total)

IANAD, but worse case scenario you could have nodes, or polyps. Prolly should see an ENT. In the mean time, try slippery elm tea (available at health food stores) and see what that does for you.
posted by stray at 10:29 PM on April 9, 2005

You don't have acid reflux, do you? That will damage vocal cords.
posted by cali at 10:51 PM on April 9, 2005

Drink some warm water with a touch of lemon, see what happens. Could be something as simple as the dreaded disease we call 'age'. Not to worry, someday we might manage to find a cure.
posted by Goofyy at 12:18 AM on April 10, 2005

When you say that your throat feels 'rough' and you feel like you need to cough, are you talking about a kind of point-like tickling irritation that forces a cough reflex, or are you talking about a general painful sensation in the throat that compels you to want to cough consciously?

Also, what kind of singing are you doing (for example, are you singing solo classical music that requires you to have a strong projecting voice, or are you crooning jazzy numbers quietly into a microphone), and are you in the habit of doing specific warm-up exercises before you start singing properly?
posted by chrismear at 5:18 AM on April 10, 2005