iWork vs. MS Office?
April 8, 2005 7:41 AM   Subscribe

I have recently purchased an iBook (G4, 512 Mb RAM, 60 Gig HD, Superdrive) and now I need a software package equivalent to MS Office and can't decide between iWork and MS Office (Mac version). Help me?

I'm leaning towards iWork because its cheaper and seems equivalent but I'm not sure that its suitable? I'm a grad student who would need to make presentations from time to time and may be transferring files (mostly pics but some docs) from our lab machines (which are PC) to my iBook. Any suggstions/advice from the Mac-loving MeFites is most appreciated!
posted by LunaticFringe to Computers & Internet (24 answers total)

As much as it kills me to say this: I'd go with Office. Many of your professors (like mine) will be heavily invested in the Office suite and it'll be easier for you if you're completely compatible.

And you'll probably need Excel for something - to my knowledge there isn't an Apple equivalent.

However: If you're only interested in opening Word docs that you receive from time to time, the free TextEdit app that came with your Mac will handle this just fine.
posted by aladfar at 7:48 AM on April 8, 2005

I've been using iWork and haven't run into any serious file-compatibility issues yet, in terms of moving Word and PowerPoint files to/from Pages and Keynote, but then the documents in question have been relatively simple -- manuscripts, for example. You might run into trouble with extremely weirded-out page formatting. But, when I was a graduate student, I didn't need complex formatting -- then again, I was in history, not biochemistry, so your case may be different.

Most of the features that, say, Word has and Pages doesn't are probably not relevant to your case: for example, tracking changes is good for office environments with many people working on the same document, for example.
posted by mcwetboy at 7:50 AM on April 8, 2005

Links to reviews of Pages (self-del.icio.us-link).