Consolidate my student loans!
April 1, 2005 12:35 PM   Subscribe

I have a sizable amount of Federal Perkins and Subsidized Stafford student loan debt, and I'm thinking of consolidating to take advantage of current interest rates. 1) Is this a good idea (why/why not?), 2) Through whom do I consolidate? I seem to get offers to do so every day from random companies. Is any one more reputable than any other? The only one of which I've heard is Sallie Mae.

FYI, I'm currently in my 2nd year of a full-time Ph.D. program, so I'll be in deferment for a while.
posted by The Michael The to Work & Money (15 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

when my husband went through grad school and had a couple of different loans, we found it was just easier to keep track of and to pay when we consolidated. And, depending on the interest rates of your loans, some may come down (if I remember correctly). Can't really give good advice on #2. good luck.
posted by evening at 12:46 PM on April 1, 2005

Do it, I graduated from grad school several years ago and my payment went down about $100 a month with the consolidation. The downside is that you're paying for longer, so the loan might actually cost you more in the long run, but you can offset this by paying more than you owe each month which pays down the principal. Also, if you don't mind internet banking, it can be nice to do it with a company that will let you do it all online.
posted by OmieWise at 12:54 PM on April 1, 2005

It's definitely worth the effort to consolidate your loans.

First, by combining them, you will get a single rate of interest and a single monthly statement. This makes it easier to manage.