"What's up with Dreamhost?" and some other (international) hosting questions.
October 26, 2010 4:23 PM   Subscribe

"What's up with Dreamhost?" and some other (international) hosting questions.

I'm a developer, and one of my clients' websites is on Dreamhost.

Dreamhost has been having some issues recently, and my client has asked that I review our hosting with them.

One extra wrinkle: we're in Australia. And the website (broadly, fashion and shopping) caters to both locals and overseas travellers to Australia.

So really it boils down to three question areas:
  • What's up with Dreamhost, again? Are there budget plans really a serious choice for a commercial website?
  • If you run an Australian website, is it better to host locally? Are there big improvements in speed for Australian users if you're running off a web server in Sydney? And if so, does that also translate into significant reductions in speed for people overseas?
  • Which Australian hosting companies are both reasonably priced and developer-friendly the way Dreamhost is (I like to have shell access, for instance, and cron)
posted by AmbroseChapel to Computers & Internet (6 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

I don't think it matters so much if your host is local to you so much as to your audience. Is your target audience local? U.S.? European?
posted by msalt at 4:46 PM on October 26, 2010

Response by poster: > Is your target audience local? U.S.? European?

See my original post. Both. It would be a far simpler question if it were just one or the other.
posted by AmbroseChapel at 5:17 PM on October 26, 2010

What's up with Dreamhost, again? Are there budget plans really a serious choice for a commercial website?

I've used Dreamhost for years on personal sites, blogs, anything that wasn't mission critical or I would expect to get significant traffic. They're good for budget sites.