How do I track multiple objects with high precision.
September 17, 2010 6:32 PM   Subscribe

How should I go about tracking multiple objects in an environment requiring high precision? Is what I'd like to do even possible?

I'm helping conduct an experiment that involves measuring responses in a linear flow column/box/thingy. The setup involves a ~500cm by ~10cm by ~4cm(height) opened topped box. Inside of the column are 6 objects that always start at fixed positions evenly dispersed throughout. Over the course of two hours these objects move throughout the box and remain within it occasionally crossing paths or overlapping, the movement of the objects rarely exceeds a displacement of 100cm. We have a group of people who run trials on a daily basis but the process is time consuming. Even with multiple apparatuses running, the data collection is slow and tedious along with the data being error prone (it wouldn't be data collection otherwise).

I have some experience programming in python and a little in C (know the syntax) but not to the point where I am comfortable programming any idea that might come to mind. I'm fine with learning while doing the project, that's partially one of the goals. My first idea was to use a high resolution camera perpendicular to the column that takes pictures at an interval and identifies the objects (high contrast luckily). I figured I could create array of points for each object and track it's movement. Unfortunately the objects are irregular in size and sometimes tumble in space. Coupled with an overlapping scenario that I would only know how to remedy by subtracting one point array from another I don't know if it would be too accurate nor have I thought through the scenario to see if I could get a reliable position. The end product would be to calculate vectors over a specific time interval for all objects and return in a csv format (which I can do!). The second idea involves using opencv and it seems like it might me more applicable