Yes, I just want to make everyone jealous.
August 21, 2010 4:26 PM   Subscribe

I'm taking my Canon G11 on a sailing vacation in the Greek islands. I expect lots of blue sky, brilliant sun, and light reflecting off the water. I've never used any kind of filter before, but should I consider it this time? If so, what do I need to know to make a filter work with my camera? Is a circular polarizer the best way to go or are there other filters to consider?

I have done some Googling and read that attaching a filter directly to the G11 can cause vignetting at certain zoom levels. I've seen that Lensmate makes a 72mm adapter that resolves the vignetting problem. But now I'm talking $100 or more to get the adapter and a filter, and I am such a beginning photographer that it feels like overkill. Plus I have to pack all that stuff. On the other hand, if I can come home with an amazing shot or two, that would be awesome.

So, yea, tell me what I should do. Also, are the low-end filters always a bad idea or can I get away with it this time?
posted by cabingirl to Sports, Hobbies, & Recreation (9 answers total) 5 users marked this as a favorite

Best answer: I have one of these for my Canon Digital Rebel and it makes a world of difference to shots taken with water and skies. Have a good practice with it before you go so that fiddling with it doesn't make you miss shots. That said, they are a snap to use.
posted by merocet at 4:32 PM on August 21, 2010

The G11 has a built-in Neutral Density filter, which, if nothing else, you should turn on in very bright lighting.
posted by Mwongozi at 4:33 PM on August 21, 2010