How can I be professional and sharp without the boots and braces?
August 19, 2010 3:28 PM   Subscribe

I'm a 28 year old woman. I know what aesthetic I want, where I can I buy clothing to make me into the butch-ish, 60s mod/skinhead of my dreams?

I'm a librarian who goes to a lot of meetings with national organizations and federal agencies. It's alway a struggle for me to feel somewhat normal in my professional togs. I have a general sense I probably look like a soccer mom. I typically wear jeans/khakis/corduroys, a button up shirt (plain, striped, classic plaid), and either a blazer or sweater.

Life was good when Ben Sherman reintroduced their womens line, but most of it ended up being too trendy (read: not the classic mod styles they were known for on the mens side) and then they discontinued the whole thing. Now the bulk of my professional wardrobe is from American Apparel or J. Crew. It's close to what I like, but I still feel like it could be more polished and more classic, not in that Hamptons way.

My biggest problem is that stuff is usually either not plain enough or not fitted enough. Pants are the biggest struggle because I don't like wide-legged cuts, which seems to be the common style. I prefer tapered or boot-cut legs. I'm 5'4" and and a size 10. I typically wear a medium shirt.

The other big wrinkle, aside from my picky and plain taste, is that I'm vegan and don't wear wool, silk, or leather.

Should I just buy men's shirts and get them altered? I have toyed with the idea of wearing skirts again, but then I worry about shoes and accessories. I should probably worry about those anyhow.
posted by kendrak to Clothing, Beauty, & Fashion (13 answers total) 7 users marked this as a favorite

Merc ship internationally, and it is the first store I associate "skinhead" with.
posted by griphus at 3:57 PM on August 19, 2010 [1 favorite]

Possibly naive answer: if you're looking for classic, are there vintage stores near you?