Do I have a legal leg to stand on?
August 17, 2010 2:59 PM   Subscribe

I believe that I've been wrongly accused by my employer of professional misconduct, but I'm not sure. What are my legal rights?

I work as a teacher in a private school, where I helped edit the student newsletter. Immediately before the latest edition was to come out, one of my superiors said that he wanted to have the next and subsequent editions of the newsletter reviewed by him before they are sent for printing.

I sent him the soft copy, told him we were behind schedule, and then informed the student team that the newsletter has to be delayed because he wants to look through them before they go out.

Long story short, my employer is now accusing me of breaching confidentiality. As the accusation is serious in my line of work, I want to know what my legal rights are.

a. Did I breach confidentiality when I informed the students that a member of the school management was looking through their work? Do I have a legal leg to stand on if I say that I was unfairly accused?

b. There was no indication in the e-mail that said that it was supposed to be confidential. Does he have a legal leg to stand on?
posted by anonymous to Law & Government (15 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

I am not a lawyer, but how could it have been confidential? What if they had decided some changes were in order? What were you supposed to tell the kids, that a magic fairy wants you to change the article? Something is odd here.
posted by JohnnyGunn at 3:05 PM on August 17, 2010 [1 favorite]

I am an attorney, but I am not your attorney, and this is not legal advice.

As the accusation is serious in my line of work, I want to know what my legal rights are.

Then you should consult an employment lawyer, preferably one that has worked on cases in the private school context.