Kundalini, what are you doing to me?
August 2, 2010 4:06 PM   Subscribe

How do I focus on yoga in stead of the hot guy next to me?

I've been doing hatha yoga for a few years now. To say I love it is an understatement. It's one of my favourite things in life, both physically and mentally. I'm usually a scattered, ADHD-ish and somewhat anxious person, and yoga has helped me tremendously to relax and focus on the here and now. Until recently.

A couple of months ago, a very attractive guy joined our class, and ever since, I haven't been able to focus at all. I'm twisting myself into asanas, and my mind is constantly focused on him like a freakin' laser beam.

I don't want to approach him or get to know him - I'm in a loving relationship and have no intention or desire to stray. This is just one of those incredibly distracting "OMG squee HOT!" things. It would be fine if it was just an entertaining coffee shop crush during lunch hour, but this is ruining my yoga, my lifeline, my one moment of serenity every week. I'm so relieved every time he misses a class! When he's there, I'm simply aware of him all the time. As well as constantly wondering how I appear to him, whether he notices me (probably not) and all that (mortifying) jazz.

Changing groups isn't an option. Doing yoga by myself at home isn't possible, either, so I can't drop out and go solo.

Is there anything I can do about this, to minimize the damage? Any way to efficiently snuff out this stupid animal attraction? Or any kind of mental acrobatics to turn it into something positive?

In case it matters, I'm female and in my 30s.
posted by anonymous to Health & Fitness (19 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

do you want to have a quick affair? confront that possibility. It sure sounds that way.
posted by Postroad at 4:12 PM on August 2, 2010 [3 favorites]

Is there any way you can change where you position yourself so that there are other people blocking your view of him?