What is the best way to ruin someone's wedding plans?
July 27, 2010 11:15 AM   Subscribe

Yes, sure I'll play piano at your wedding. But now it's a week before the wedding and changes have been made that I'm not musically capable of handling! What do I do?

My much-beloved aunt is getting remarried on Saturday. About four weeks ago she asked if I would play piano at her wedding. I was honored to have been asked, so I said that I would. (Data points: 1) I'm a pretty good pianist, but I'm not Vladimir Horowitz (hell, I'm not even Tori Amos). 2) I am a graduate student desperately trying to finish her Ph.D. research and thesis. 3) I live 600 miles away from the rest of my family.)

After I said yes, I discovered that she wanted me to play four pieces. I couldn't handle that many, especially because she never gave me the sheet music for two of the pieces, so we backed it down to the other two pieces (accompaniments for songs). I know the people who are singing, but because I live 600 miles away, we are not going to get a chance to rehearse until the day of the wedding.

One of the songs is really easy and I won't have any trouble with it. The other song is somewhat harder -- it's long, and has some fairly technically-challenging portions. I have subtly rewritten it (inverted chords so that my hands can play them, simplified some arpeggio passages so that there's no chance of my messing them up and throwing off the singers, etc.) and worked really hard for the past three weeks to try to learn it.

Yesterday, I got an email from the singers. They have decided to sing the song in D major. The sheet music that I was sent has the song written in F major. They considerately attached a transcription of the song into D major, and suggested that if my keyboard has a transpose function that I just use that.