Internet Access for 10 Days Only
July 10, 2010 8:47 PM   Subscribe

I need good internet access in New Hampshire for only 10 days during a very difficult time.

Oh, wise Me-Fites. I wasn't going to ask this, but I'm in a Tough Spot.

My dear father died unexpectedly in April in New Hampshire. I have been dealing with his estate (I live in MA) and my sister is joining me (she lives in Pittsburgh) next week at his house to do as much as we can together.

I have let bills slide until officially appointed as executrix of the estate, since I am a college student and could not afford to keep paying bills with my own money. This includes the Time Warner Cable bill, which was phone, tv, and, most importantly to this question, the internet. In this time, these services have been shut off at the house.

My sister is bringing her newborn daughter(!) and her husband, who must continue working in the 10 days he is in NH. He needs the internet.

To re-instate internet access, it is a bill of $750. I called my sister and husband tonight to ask if there was another way we could access the internet at my dad's house without paying the entire Time Warner cable bill for all months since our Dad died.

My brother-in-law is Not Nice (sigh; that's a whole 'nother question) and immediately refused any other options, saying he Absolutely Needed the Internet and we Had to Pay the Whole Bill. He refuses to work at the library, or another place that offers internet access, partially because he can only help with the baby if he is at home.

I want to check, just in case, for any other option other than reinstating cable service. I looked, and Verizon wireless (which, in my experience, offers reliable cell phone service in southern NH) offers a month-to-month plan on an Internet USB key. Would this provide sufficient/reliable service? He'll probably need to send large files, not just access email.