How to secure a programming job after a long break?
March 1, 2005 8:36 PM   Subscribe

How to secure a programming job after a long break? Should I mention that when I left my last job, they tried to keep me with a massive salary increase?

I have a bachelor's degree in computer science. I worked as a programmer for about a year and then quit to go to grad school (in a completely different field). It is five years later and I would like to return to programming. Since I only have 1 year experience and since it was so long ago, I am seeking advice on how best to sell myself. When I decided to leave my job for grad school, my employer offered me a 22K increase in salary (from my starting pay of 38K). So they obviously really liked me. I now live in a different state, but have asked my former superiors to act as references (a couple of them said yes, although my former boss never replied). Should I mention the increased salary offer in my current job applications even though my references probabaly can't verify it? Also, any general advice on how to secure a job in this field given my particular situation would be appreciated. Thanks.
posted by crack to Work & Money (10 answers total)

Have you been programming on your own in the meantime? Created any cool applications? Participated in any open-source projects? Got any code samples you can show off? If you don't, get started right away. Being able to deliver the goods is one of the main things a potential employer is going to look for. This includes being up to speed on what the current in-demand practices, platforms, and languages are in the field you want to enter.