USB Power for Multiple Devices
February 22, 2005 8:02 AM   Subscribe

I'm setting up a new Mac Mini for someone. I needed to plug in a keyboard, a mouse, a printer, and, occassionally, a flash disk. I went with the Apple Pro keyboard because it had two USB ports. I figure, one for the mouse, and one for the flash disk. The printer could go in the other USB port on the machine itself. Well, I try plugging in the flash disk and I'm told there isn't enough power. Is this perhaps a software setting? Surely the flash disk can't use a tremendous amount of power, so can I do something to trick the system? Do I really need to buy a powered USB hub now? I might as well replace the mini and the keyboard with Airport-enabled equivalents, if I can never use both USB ports on the keyboard.
posted by odinsdream to Computers & Internet (18 answers total)

Er, I mean Bluetooth-enabled equivalents. Sorry.
posted by odinsdream at 8:08 AM on February 22, 2005

I have no experience with Macs, but the keyboard is presumably acting as an unpowered USB hub. In my PC experience, unpowered USB hubs are basically worthless. So yes, you may have to get a powered hub.

Actually, if the printer has its own power, which presumably it does, you could plug the flash disk in the back and the printer in the keyboard. Though that would probably suck ergo-wise.

By flash disk, do you mean like a USB thumb drive? The RAM chips in those do require a certain level of power, IIRC.
posted by selfnoise at 8:17 AM on February 22, 2005

BTW, a powered USB hub will be vastly less expensive than going to Bluetooth. And probably more useful.
posted by smackfu at 8:21 AM on February 22, 2005

You're right smackfu, the hub would be a cheap option, and might be worth it anyway, but what I'm mainly thinking about now is, what's the point of having the two USB ports on the keyboard at all if I can only use one at a time?