Motivation and expectations.
May 18, 2010 7:08 AM   Subscribe

How do I motivate myself when studying for my college exams, when all I can think about is not disappointing people?

There's a lot of pressure to do well, get a good job, be successful. I don't want to disappoint my parents or my friends. This is stupid, because my parents have said "as long as you're happy, we don't care," but it still feels like they do. My friends are wonderful, but still competitive. It's hard not to think they'll look down on you in some way when they're doing so exceptionally well. And teachers, too... Everyone invests something in you.

I still love learning, and I still have my curiosity, but the trouble is whenever I'm studying that never seems enough. The pressure crushes all enjoyment out of it, and with it makes studying very, very difficult.

The trouble is, and I'm sure I'm not alone in this, but I don't see a place for myself in the world. I'm coming to the end of my third year, with one more next year assuming I do well in my coming exams. There's this education path that I have to follow, and if I keep following it I take it on faith I'll get somewhere, but it feels like if I'll stop even for a second I'll just sink. I'll just be told "turn around, not good enough, go back home" and never be able to get anywhere. Never be able to escape my hometown or my parents...

---