What's your idea of PHP best practices?
February 19, 2005 8:47 PM   Subscribe

PHP programmers: what would a well-laid-out PHP project look like to you? I'm a computer science grad student who's never used PHP for anything much and not in many years, but I now have an opportunity to write a small-to-moderate-sized site for somebody and thought I'd give PHP another go. I'm well versed in generally writing tasteful programs and I even have a pretty decent amount of experience with writing web sites using other technologies; what I'm really interested in is specifically how PHP programmers use the language in practice to make maintainable sites. For instance, what's the best way to separate content from HTML so it's easier to make site-wide HTML tweaks? What are the sorts of things that you wish someone had told you about how to build PHP projects?
posted by jacobm to Computers & Internet (10 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite