what to do with an ipad
April 30, 2010 9:43 PM   Subscribe

I have now bought an ipad 32 meg without 3G. No bigloss considering the signal in my area. Now that I have it, what should I do with it / buy for it? I am new to mac products, so I domt know all of the possible apps could make my life wonderful. Siggestons?
posted by slavlin to Technology (15 answers total) 23 users marked this as a favorite

Words with Friends
How to Cook Everything
Things
posted by bradbane at 10:52 PM on April 30, 2010

[Several comments removed. Do not be a jerk on askme.]
posted by cortex (staff) at 10:56 PM on April 30, 2010

"Get to know the programs built into it, and wait patiently for a few months until the flow of iPad-specific software begins."

Spoken like someone without an iPad - there was a surprising amount of iPad-specific stuff on the App Store from day 1, and there's tons new every day. Things I like so far:

Instapaper
Adobe Ideas
Words With Friends
Evernote
NPR
BBC News
ComicZeal (though I have a bunch of downloaded comics already, this may not be of use to you if you don't)
Epicurious
Kindle (Since I already have some kindle books)
Dragon dictation
posted by thedaniel at 11:13 PM on April 30, 2010

How about a very good drawing app such as Autodesk's Sketchbook pro, and a capacitive screen stylus?

At this point, you have a rudimentary Wacom Cintiq, but it has 3G internet and a bunch of other stuff.
posted by hellojed at 11:21 PM on April 30, 2010 [1 favorite]

Sketchbook Pro and a Pogo Sketch stylus, if you like to doodle or can actually draw.

I've got the Kindle app, iBooks, and GoodReader (a PDF reader that also speaks Dropbox and can pull PDFs out of Dropbox for you) for reading purposes; that covers me pretty well for sudden book urges. (I finished reading jscalzi's Old Man's War via free PDF in GoodReader tonight, flipped over to iBooks, and bought the next one, The Ghost Brigades, on the spot.)