"Myself" vs "me"
April 21, 2010 3:38 PM   Subscribe

Grammar filter: Is it wrong to use "myself" when "me" seems to sound better?

An example: I was on a flight about a month ago, and the flight attendant gave an announcement saying, "If you would like any duty-free items, please stop myself as I come by with the trolley."

Shouldn't it have been "Please stop me"?

Under what circumstances should one use "myself", "yourself", etc? The more I think about it, the more confused I become.
posted by stenoboy to Writing & Language (33 answers total)

Uh, I'm not a grammar expert, but I am reasonably well-versed in the English language and I have never heard or read that usage before. Is it possible this flight attendant was not a native speaker of English?
posted by duvatney at 3:43 PM on April 21, 2010

Hmm, IANAEnglishProfessor but that sounds either 1) Incorrect, or 2) Arcane usage.
posted by InsanePenguin at 3:46 PM on April 21, 2010

Yes, "myself" would be used in the context of the flight attendant stopping herself, not someone else stopping her.
posted by choochoo at 3:47 PM on April 21, 2010 [2 favorites]

Yes, it should have been, "Please stop me." Xself is what's known as a reflexive pronoun, and should only be used when its antecedent appears before it in the same clause, as in "If you declare yourself to be interested in purchasing duty-free items, I will stop myself from walking past you in the aisle."
posted by The White Hat at 3:48 PM on April 21, 2010 [3 favorites]

You use "-self" when the subject (the person performing the action) is also the subject (the thing being acted upon). In the sentence you're quoting, is "you," i.e., you passengers. If you passengers would like duty free items, you passengers should stop ME.

I assume this was a non-native speaker of English? This is 100% wrong.
posted by Admiral Haddock at 3:48 PM on April 21, 2010 [2 favorites]