Let the search commence.
April 18, 2010 2:47 AM   Subscribe

Master bath a disaster zone, in need of a top-to-bottom gutting and expansion. As a preface to the designing process, my architect has tasked me with a project: finding a bathtub. How do I do this?

Since bathtubs come in all shapes and sizes, it's the unknown variable that will determine how the space will be configured around it. That means getting my act in gear and finding one that I like--soon. I've never done this before so I need your help.

I'm thinking that a deep, somewhat narrow two-person tub will fit the bill. I've seen these referred to as "soaking tubs" or "Japanese soaking tubs" or even "Japanese furos." I'm not into frills, like air jets. And if a soaking tub can't be located, I'd be willing to settle for a standard tub that's fairly deep and not too large. (My plan is to surround the tub with tile or granite when it's installed.)

-What are the pluses and minuses of the various types of tubs on the market that fit my size parameters?
-Where can I go to look at tubs, either online or off? What types of brick-and-mortar stores carry tubs that I can look at?
-What are considered the best materials for tubs these days? Plastic, ceramic, metal? Pros and cons of each?
-Any name brands that I should look for?
And, the kicker . . .
-What are your tub success or horror stories? What facts do I need to wrap my mind around before starting this search?
posted by Gordion Knott to Home & Garden (9 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

FWIW we used to have a metal tub I now have a plastic one. I believe the water cooled more quickly in the metal one. Having said that the plastic one ends up with very, very small scratches which are barely visible but which detract from the look of it. This may be the way we clean it.