need recommendation for mac graphics software that is easy to use.
April 2, 2010 2:37 PM   Subscribe

Can you you recommend powerful but easy to use mac graphics software?

I can use Adobe Illustrator but I have found, after 10 years of messing with it for 1-2 hours per month for various small scale graphics projects, that it is remains hard to use. I am not a graphics artist and no one in my office is, yet we need to generate simple graphics.

I'd like to move to a mac graphics package that is easier to use and more intuitive, even if it lacks the awesome power of Adobe products. I used to use mac paint, which I found incredibly intuitive. But it doesn't exist any more. I am looking for something my office administrator can use to make door signs, tickets for events, that kind of simple mix of images and text.
posted by alcahofa to Computers & Internet (13 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Are you looking for raster (Photoshop) or vector (Illustrator)?

My default recommendation is Pixelmator, but even that may be too much for you.
posted by The Michael The at 2:43 PM on April 2, 2010

Keynote or Pages might double for those purposes.
posted by Blazecock Pileon at 2:44 PM on April 2, 2010

Intaglio might be a decent MacPaint replacement.
posted by Blazecock Pileon at 2:45 PM on April 2, 2010

Have you tried Acorn?
posted by justgary at 2:45 PM on April 2, 2010

I'm not sure what you mean by "easy to use." It sounds like you find vector graphics confusing but don't mind bitmap/raster programs.

You might check out VectorDesigner if you want to try a program that's like Illustrator, but simpler. Or Pixelmator for a Photoshop alternative. Or maybe these are too advanced for you also -- it really isn't clear what your level of skill is, or your willingness to learn something new.
posted by The Winsome Parker Lewis at 2:47 PM on April 2, 2010