Help me understand...
April 1, 2010 3:34 PM   Subscribe

Could the LHC cause earthquakes?

Please don't laugh. It will probably be a challenge for those whose forte is physics to explain it in a way a humanities major could understand, since I have very little physics background. To you this may seem like a dumb question, but it is an honest one.
It seemed there has been more earthquakes since the LHC began this year. Could there be a direct correlation?
Here is my reasoning: the LHC is underground and the collision is more than three times what has previously been accomplished. All my life I have heard of the "power of the atom." That simply splitting the atom was what caused the fission (?) of the A-bomb of Hiroshima. If splitting the atom caused such a reaction, what would be the power released from colliding them?
As a female, if I want to move a heavy sofa I give it a little push with my hip and get momentum going until it is moved.
Could the collision cause such a "little push" to the earth's plate tectonics that it "scoots" them over a little?
posted by srbrunson to Science & Nature (20 answers total)

The collisions that take place in the LHC have energies in the range of 10 TeV. This is enough energy to power a 100 W lightbulb for about a millisecond. It's not a lot of energy on a human scale, let alone a geological scale.
posted by mr_roboto at 3:43 PM on April 1, 2010 [1 favorite]

Additionally, cosmic rays impinge on the earth with this sort of energy all the time. (for those who want to quibble, no, not in the rest frame; but this is only really an issue for what sort of products such a collision might make, not for how their energy might affect things like earthquakes. As far as those products go, e.g. the black hole scenario, those being serious issues are ruled out by rays impinging on much denser objects like neutron stars all the time, and nothing horrible having happened).