What do you suggest for a defragger for Windows?
February 10, 2005 11:04 PM   Subscribe

In this thread, people mention a few times that the Windows disk defragger is horrible and can have negative long-term effects on hard drives. What suggestions do you guys have for a defragger to use instead? Preferably freeware...
posted by swank6 to Computers & Internet (14 answers total)

I work in IT. I've never seen anything I'd believe say that the built-in Windows degfragger is damaging to the system. I've never noticed any slow down or increased error rate after using it. It's better than nothing.

I used to use a Norton defragger ("Speeddisk") back in the day. I would assume whatever product they offer is still good.
posted by krisjohn at 12:32 AM on February 11, 2005

I've always found the Windows defragger to just be plain rubbish rather than damaging. However as krisjohn said, it is better than nothing.

O&O Defrag is excellent, but sadly costs.
posted by ralawrence at 1:01 AM on February 11, 2005

This stigma is probably leftover from Win9x/DOS days. Since NT, defrag abilities are built into the NTFS file system driver itself. The entire process is failsafe, meaning that at all times the file system is intact, and locks are used to prevent applications from accessing or modifying a file as it is being moved. Sysinternals makes some nice apps that communicate directly to the native NT defrag API: Contig is a command-line defrag utility, which will let you defrag specific files! They also offer PageDefrag which will defrag your page files on the next reboot. (Page files are like virtual memory, and cannot be normally defragged since they are always in use.) The best part is the source code is freely availiable :)