Should I list this job in my resume?
March 30, 2010 3:38 PM   Subscribe

I am a 13 year IT professional who was laid off from my job back in early 2008. After months of unsuccessful job hunting, I did the stay-at-home-dad thing for over a year before I landed a job as an office manager at a small store. (well cashier, but I also do light book-keeping, fix the computers, do the payroll, AP, AR, etc...) With the economy (hopefully) picking up, I want to update my resume and get aggressive about job hunting again, but am hesitant to put this job in my resume. Will this hurt or help? Your thoughts are appreciated!

As a background, this job is sort of "below" me and pays much less than what I used to make. (about a 1/4 of former salary) BTW, sorry about the "below" comment. Couldn't think of a better way to put it. I recognize that there is nothing wrong with doing whatever it takes and taking whatever job necessary to feed my family and retain some shred of dignity. Is listing this job (which I've been doing for 9 months now.) better than having a longer gap?
posted by anonymous to Work & Money (16 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

Couldn't you call the position "operations manager"?
posted by KokuRyu at 3:43 PM on March 30, 2010 [1 favorite]

If it were me, I would list it. There are thousands of laid-off professionals due to this recession, and not enough jobs for them. Any halfway sensible employer understands that, and I think your willingness to take an available job and do it well will either be a neutral or a positive statement to most companies. That seems better than a nine-month longer gap to me.
posted by Pater Aletheias at 3:49 PM on March 30, 2010 [1 favorite]

I dunno you are already going to have a year gap for being a stay at home dad (so you can just use that as your reason for the time anyway). If you're going for an IT position I'm not sure this is going to help much.

That being said. It can't hurt.