My employer is going to pay me $5,000/year to go to school. Help me figure out my next move.
March 30, 2010 6:33 AM   Subscribe

My employer is going to pay me $5,000/year to go to school. Help me figure out my next move.

My employer, a healthy medium-sized financial services firm that does business in all 50 states, has recently presented full-time employees with the option to be reimbursed $5,000/year for tuition/books/fees.

I have a bachelor's degree in communication (wannabe journalist at one point) and have long-wanted to pursue more education without incurring any student loan debt. Here, apparently, is the opportunity.

What I'd love your help with is figuring out precisely the direction I should go based on the way you perceive the marketplace moving in the next 10/20/30/40 years.

The employer's guidelines are fairly broad: Pursue education that "relates to a career field within the company." Fortunately, the fields covered include (and this is a shortened list): accounting, economics, finance, marketing, organizational leadership, statistics, training, and psychology. Each of these interests me for one reason or another.

Now, I'm that classic "I like a lot of things and don't have a ton of career direction in my life" guy, but I'm 29, buying a house, and really need to pick something and stick with it. (My previous jobs have included fundraising for a university and media production for baseball teams.) And I don't want to pursue a master's degree if it will not be useful in the marketplace (i.e., masters in art history, no offense meant).

My interests, as mentioned, are rather broad. Teaching seems like it could be fun. I've been told I'd make a good therapist (psychiatrist), and I think that'd be rewarding. I like the idea of career counseling. I also like numbers (but my math skills stop at geometry), and human behavior, and why people act the way they do. Sports psychology is intriguing.