Looking for feedback on my plan for a May trip to Western Europe.
March 28, 2010 6:44 AM   Subscribe

Looking for feedback on my plan for a May trip to Western Europe, probably Paris and one other country.

We will have about 10 days and want to do two countries (and two hotels). We'd rather spend more time exploring than sitting on trains. The plan is to have two home base cities and take day trip excursions if we want to.

[A little background... we are in our mid-30s and in good health. We are into exploring, eating, shopping, museums, finding some non-touristy things to do, etc. No hiking. I'm an amateur photographer and I look forward to taking a million photos. We will be staying in normal hotels rather than hostels, hopefully made easier because I am a travel agent and can probably get discounts. I have been to England, Ireland and Italy, and Paris for one day. Language barriers do not concern us. We are going to Europe for me... as long as we stay in decent hotels and do not go to Germany, my wife will be happy to join me. I know - I'm a lucky guy. I just have to plan a beach vacation for our next trip!]

I've always wanted to explore Paris... not so much for the museums and churches, although we will do some of that... but mostly to just experience Paris. Food, shopping, just exploring.

For the second city, I would love to go to Italy but I was recently in Rome, Venice and Florence on a business trip and had time to see the main attractions. I thought maybe the second city could be somewhere else in Italy but I am not sure where... Milan doesn't seem so interesting, Cinque Terre towns seem amazing but maybe not much to do if it's not warm enough for the beaches? Naples and Sicily seem wonderful but too far? Are there other places in Italy worth the trip from Paris?