Spoilt brats need advice
March 22, 2010 6:08 AM   Subscribe

No job, loads of "savings" being burnt in rent, financially illiterate

I kind of feel like a bit of a spoilt brat whinging about our situation as many people are in much tougher circumstances, but anyway...my wife and I have a frustrating but not overly bad financial dilemma. We have just returned home from overseas and are jobless. However, we have about $130,000 in the bank from a recent inheritance. I will soon be in full-time study for the next 3-4 years and will have minimal income (max $250 a week) and my wife will be in and out of work because of babies - she has a bit of work on at the moment but will soon be quitting and probably won't be back to work until late this year. As an alternative to burning our savings away while I'm studying full time, I wondered about getting a loan for (for example) ~$300,000 with an ~$80,000 deposit, buying a $350-380,000 home, then using the remaining savings of $50,000 (i.e. 130,000 in bank - 80,000 deposit = 50,000) to pay it off while I'm studying full time (i.e. before I'm back to full time work in 3-4 years) but none of the banks are interested in lending to people that don't have secure jobs. So here we are burning $400+ a week in rent which will be over $80,000 (!!) for the next 4 years while I'm studying, with our $130,000 inheritance in a term deposit. Surely there are better options out there for us? FWIW, our credit ratings are probably ok, my wife's might be a bit sketchy from credit card debt she had a few years back. We don't really have any other debts and my studies will be funded by an interest free government loan. Only other major asset is a $16,000 car. Any ideas on what we should do?
posted by anonymous to Work & Money (15 answers total)

Could you use your savings as a down payment on a house?
posted by chesty_a_arthur at 6:10 AM on March 22, 2010