Good male hair styling product for medium-longish, thick, dry, frizzy hair
March 10, 2010 9:16 PM   Subscribe

Calling all stylists: Good male hair styling product for medium-longish, thick, dry, frizzy hair?

I'm a guy, 30 yrs old. I have medium-length thick dark straight-ish brown hair. (Though, as I get older, it's been getting slightly wavy-ish or even curly, for some reason-- maybe natural, or maybe accumulated toll of hair products, who knows.)

During the last six months, my hair has become unusually dry, and the styling product I've been using for many years (Aveda Anti-Humectant Pomade) doesn't really work anymore, as it dries it out further.

For a change of pace, I want to grow my hair out medium-longish length. And create what could be called a soft-ish, loose/ disheveled/ messy/ tousled, but controlled/ deliberate look. Kind of like this -- with hair probably a bit longer.

As of now, if I don't use a styling product after shampooing and conditioning, my hair becomes: thick, very dry, puffy, frizzy, with a lot of split ends.

The new shampoo & conditioner & 'repair' stuff I got ('Moroccan Oil') is doing all right for making my hair a normal dryness again, but I need a good styling product to complete the aforementioned look. The trick is that it must add or preserve moisture.

Would prefer a 'natural,' environmentally friendly product, as the idea of putting lots of synthetic dyes, fragrances, and other ingredients on my scalp perpetually seems offputting-- but realize maybe there aren't any that work well, and am open to all suggestions.

Incidentally, I wonder what products one could use to get hair like this -- and this. It's soft-ish, long-ish, disheveled-- yet it stands up!?

I know a similar thread exists already, but that one seems fallacious insofar as it doesn't mention a specific hair type. There is no single 'best hair product for men'-- just good ones for particular hair types.

Thanks!