Beginning amateur rocketeer seeks beginning
March 8, 2010 8:40 AM   Subscribe

Help me get my amateur rocket science on.

I'm looking for recommendations on books and other resources to check out. This post the other day was great timing but on most rocketry websites I've looked at the list of recommended resources seemed to be pretty extensive and as a total newbie I'm not sure where to start. Is there anything that you'd specifically recommend that was useful when you were first starting out?
posted by twins named Lugubrious and Salubrious to Sports, Hobbies, & Recreation (9 answers total) 8 users marked this as a favorite

Best answer: The Estes rocket kits were a nice start; pretty small potatoes compared to the guys who are very serious in the sport, but they give you a nice package that will help you understand the basics before you start cobbling together your own rockets from scratch.
posted by craven_morhead at 8:48 AM on March 8, 2010

Yes, +1 for just grabbinb an Estes kit and going for it. Make sure you pick up an engine, some igniters and a launch platform.
posted by jeffamaphone at 9:11 AM on March 8, 2010

Best answer: Obviously, there's no substitute for building and flying a lot of rockets. Start with Estes's skill level 1 rockets and work up. When you get bored with that, move into mid-power (F & G class motors) rockets with kits from Aerotech or Binder Design. (Mid power is where the most fun is, but you gotta master low power first.)

Find your local club, attend their meetings and launches and get on their email discussion group.

As for reading material, download the 16 page PDF Model Rocket Technical Manual. If you master that and want more, get Stine's Handbook of Model Rocketry.

Familiarize yourself with the Model Rocket Safety Code. (Rocketry is safe if done right.)

When you're ready to play with the big boys, hook up with Tripoli Rocketry Association.
posted by neuron at 9:46 AM on March 8, 2010 [3 favorites]