Disenfranchised math grad student seeks direction
March 7, 2010 5:35 PM   Subscribe

I'm a second-year math grad student and all I know is math -- but I want out. What are my options?

I'm a second-year math grad student in a mid-size US city, and over the past year have resolved that I really don't want to do this anymore. I'm no longer interested in the subject: I've changed directions radically (from topology to probability theory) and though I enjoyed doing something different, I don't see myself doing research in any field.

In fact, I don't really see myself in *any* job. I did my undergraduate degree in pure math in England, which means that I took *only* math classes for my entire undergraduate career. Math is really all I know. Though I have an academic interest in mathematical finance, I really don't want to be just another suit pushing money around. Other than academia, finance and the defense industry (which I am not interested in on conscientious grounds), what is there for me?

I'm twenty-three years old -- am I too old to start all over? If not, how do I figure out what I want to do in life? I've been trying to think about this for over a year now, and it's been driving me crazy.
posted by pewpew to Work & Money (22 answers total) 7 users marked this as a favorite

I don't know what you should do, but I can safely say that if you are too old, then the rest of us are totally fucked. Man, to be 23 again.
posted by milarepa at 5:39 PM on March 7, 2010 [2 favorites]

You really do seem like an obvious candidate for a hedge fund. I realize you don't want to be a "suit pushing money around," but a lot of people think it's a hell of a lot of fun. Plus, how many millions of dollars does it take for you think that pushing some money around might be kind of cool for a while?
posted by isamuel at 5:44 PM on March 7, 2010

Sounds like a regular quarterlife crisis.
posted by mnemonic at 5:45 PM on March 7, 2010