Beginner resources for ASP.NET and SQL?
March 2, 2010 12:21 PM   Subscribe

So the company I've started working for has asked me to step into a website development role, and while I've got some limited tech knowledge, I need to find some resources to start really digging into ASP.NET and SQL.

I've been doing web design for quite a few years and have a little experience with ASP.NET and slightly more substantial experience with SQL, but I definitely need to shake the rust off before I step into any sort of full time position. Are there any good books / webinars / courses that I can take that would start from the ground up and get me to a working knowledge of the software? Any suggestions would really help.
posted by Mali to Computers & Internet (5 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

WebForms or MVC?
posted by geoff. at 12:32 PM on March 2, 2010

I'll see if I can get a list of some resources, but in the meantime, I wanted to address something specific about ASP.NET, given your background. Know that, at least in my experience, professional ASP.NET development is trending away from its historic model of "A control for everything! Plug and play web widgets for all! No one cares what happens underneath!" in favor of more light-weight controls, much more developer/designer control over markup, decent JavaScript frameworks (e.g. JQuery), strategically employed AJAX functionality, etc.

I only mention this to encourage you, as a web designer, not to "overlearn" ASP.NET, at least in its historical model. You're going to want to retain your sensibilities about separation of semantic markup from style/presentation, good CSS employment, etc., and fill in with ASP.NET controls where data delivery is necessary.
posted by Brak at 12:37 PM on March 2, 2010