Teach me to swing dance without leaving my house
February 21, 2010 11:08 AM   Subscribe

What's a good beginner's swing dancing DVD?

My wife and I are looking for a good instructional DVD that teaches swing dancing. Both of are absolute novices at all types of dancing, but swing dancing looks fun and we love dancing with each other (however badly)

I understand the limitations of DVD instruction, but for now that's what we've got the time for right now. We're looking for something that's pretty basic, but will give us enough knowledge to dance competently at weddings, parties, etc. Something that's cheap/available on Netflix would be ideal, but we're willing to sacrifice a little money if the DVD is good.
posted by Bulgaroktonos to Sports, Hobbies, & Recreation (6 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

There are a lot of styles of swing dancing out there. My knowledge is for west coast, which is generally danced to slower or medium tempo songs (~70-120bpm) and tends to draw from blues and contemporary music when danced socially, although it can be danced to almost anything in 4/4 time. West coast is a smooth, relaxed version of swing dancing; if you want to see how it looks, you can do a youtube search and find all kinds of videos. Some of the pros that you might want to search for include Jordan Frisbee, Tatiana Mollman, Kyle Redd, Sarah Vann Drake, Brennar Goree, Torri Smith, Ben Morris, and Melina Ramirez.

Skippy Blair has put together a West Coast 101 DVD that covers the basic patterns of the dance in a well-thought out progression. Skippy is one of the best dance instructors out there and this DVD is a very solid introduction to the dance. You can find info for ordering the DVD from her website: http://www.swingworld.com/wcs.htm. I would be surprised if the DVD is available via Netflix, but it's only $20 to purchase.
posted by philosophygeek at 11:37 AM on February 21, 2010

No DVD, but here's a series on online videos.