Is it alright to put an oil painting in the trash..and does this idea have "good energy"?
February 5, 2010 1:42 PM   Subscribe

I want to do something similar to this London artist's idea...but when I think about it I quickly get mired in the logistics. Can you help me decide if I could do something like this that would be environmentally correct plus not cost me money personally? "Art bin"

I am a working artist. My medium in oil. Over the years I have amassed a lot of horrible work that drags me down emotionally...just looking at it. I know that there are many artists who feel the same..saving the dreck is not uplifting. I have painted over some of my efforts, and that, of course, is an effective way to recycle. However, this man's idea is excellent because of the symbolism of getting rid of the past. I don't know though--if I were to do something similar here (in Portland, OR) on this type of scale (inviting other artists to join in) if the environmental people wouldn't jump on me immediately. I don't know how oil paint breaks down in landfills and if it is wrong to throw oil paintings into the trash.
I've tried googling the problem to no avail --can you point me in a direction about oil painting disposal..or tell me if there is anything wrong with how he has handled it? I feel that it would be a popular turnout and maybe I could charge a modest fee so that I wouldn't have to take on the whole cost of a dumpster.

Does this seem viable to you? Does it seem like a stupid idea or a good one? Portland is full of artists. Zillions of them. There has to be miles of art that they would like to purge. Please let me know your thoughts...and before you advise me to give canvases to schools for recycling, I have to tell you that usually most artists don't want their bad work out in the world (unsigned or signed) in any way...that's why this guy's solution seems so elegant (aside from the possible enviromental ramifications).