Insert data into several tables via form (MS Access)?
January 5, 2010 7:17 PM   Subscribe

I'm working on an Access database that collects various metrics and numbers weekly. I've used week numbers as the primary key in each table since that's the only thing that can reliably group them together. If I were to build a form to input data into more than one table at once, is there a way to enter the week number only once on the form, but have it insert the number into multiple tables? Or am I doing this wrong altogether?

This database basically collects information about performance for 6 different departments that all work together and share some management. The whole point is to look at this information on a weekly basis, hence my use of week numbers. I'm very new to Access and could probably do a lot of things differently, so I'm more than open to suggestions.

I currently have at least 2 tables for each department (one for phones, the other for service) and a table of just weeks (week #, start date, end date).
posted by speeb to Computers & Internet (8 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

You can update multiple tables from a single form using VBA (Access 2007 on MSDN)

I think the way to go is to add a primary key column to your week table. When you create a new week, get the primary key value for it, and add the primary key to all of the necessary tables.

This is called a foreign key relationship.

Also, you can do the same thing with Departments. In other words a single table with at least 2 columns - Department Name, ID (with ID being the primary key) and any other relevant information.

Then create 1 table for Phones and another for Services, each of these tables have a column called Department ID. When you add a row to the Phone or Services table include the appropriate Department ID. This will reduce the number of tables you need to manage from (# of dept * 2) to 3.