Their lovin' don't pay my bills
December 10, 2009 9:32 PM   Subscribe

I'm a freelance writer who's considering suing a client for nonpayment. Before I go there, please give me the benefit of your experience.

I'm being stiffed by a client for almost $10K. After several months of collections efforts, a demand letter from my attorney resulted in assurances of goodwill but nothing more.

Now I'm considering filing suit for breach of contract. The total is too large for small claims, and my attorney tells me it will cost a couple grand up front in legal fees. In the meantime, I fear my former client will soon close their doors and may file for bankruptcy.

I'm looking for experiences from other freelancers or small business owners who have been in similar situations. Did you decide to sue, or walk away? How much did you recover, and what did it end up costing? What do you know now that you wish you'd known then? Thanks for sharing your hard-earned wisdom.
posted by anonymous to Work & Money (12 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

I get a 50% deposit up front. All invoices are due upon submission, although I sometimes build in project milestones if it's a big project. The deposit is credited against the final invoice amount, not the first part. I charge 2% monthly interest compounded monthly. If I don't get paid in full by the end of the first 30 days (and not business days) after I sent the invoice, I send a demand letter. If that isn't paid by date X, I file in small claims. I have a very detailed paper trail for all work invested in claiming costs. My contracts say the client is responsible for all and any costs involved in recovering payment. And so on.

I have only ever had to take 2 clients to court in 12+ years.

In both cases, mediation resulted in a favourable (and full) settlement for me.
posted by acoutu at 9:40 PM on December 10, 2009 [4 favorites]

I have no business advice for you, but I do have some "this is not legal advice" advice.