Help a Yank punctuate like a Brit.
December 10, 2009 1:36 PM   Subscribe

BritishPunctuationFilter: I'm an American editor preparing a author's manuscript that will soon be submited to a British publisher, and I have three exciting questions regarding dashes, hyphens, and apostrophes!

This project fell in my lap very suddenly, so I haven't been able to get my hands on the Oxford Style Guide in time, but I have a general sense of British punctuation and spelling (and have MS Word set to U.K. English!)... so I seem to have narrowed my questions down to the following:

1. Inclusive numbers: separated by a hyphen (1850-1915) or an en-dash (1850–1915)?

2. Compound adjectives for compass points: hyphenated (south-west quadrant) or closed (southwest quadrant)?

3. 1980's or 1980s?

Please note: I am looking for answers from other writers, editors, and/or general usage geeks who can say more or less definitively what would be used at a major British publishing house. I would prefer to avoid a long chatfilter conversation/guess-fest* about the general weirdness of British vs. American usage, or how hyphens are used in computer programming, or how you would do it on your blog. Thanks.

*Yeah, I don't know if that should be a hyphenated or closed compound either.
posted by scody to Writing & Language (8 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

My very recent experience with a major British publishing house is that you agree beforehand to a style (US or UK) and stick to it, while certain minor details are solved by intuition, but should be consistent throughout the manuscript. These rules may vary from house to house. Typically, one would ask for a publisher's style and submission guides before beginning the fine-tuning.
No comment about #1 and 2 (I know my preferences, but that's not what you're asking) As to #3, the apostrophe is wrong, no matter which side of the water.
posted by Namlit at 1:51 PM on December 10, 2009 [1 favorite]

Best answer: Oxford: