Help me become a teacher without a masters.
December 10, 2009 8:42 AM   Subscribe

Can I teach in Colorado without a Masters?

The details are, I live in Denver, I have a bachelors degree in Computer Information Systems, I've been working as a freelance software developer for the last 2+ years, when I say freelance I mean that's how I make a good serious living. I'd like to get into teaching computer science at either a high school or junior college level. Nothing too advanced, but either Intro to Programming, RDMS or Data Structures. I've seen a lot of places require a masters but I'd rather not rack up another student loan burden plus sink all my time into grad school for the next 2 years. I have a great resume, very strong references from high profile clients, I've never had difficulty getting solid, well paying work. I feel I would be good teaching older kids/young adults, I've worked with high school students a few years back and really enjoyed it; Is there a way I can make all this translate into at least some part time teaching job?
posted by Scientifik to Education (5 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

Private schools tend not to require MAs. This might be a good place to start.
posted by oinopaponton at 8:45 AM on December 10, 2009

Also, this.
posted by oinopaponton at 8:48 AM on December 10, 2009

The deal with teaching in public schools is that without a master's, you can only go so far up on the salary schedule (here's an example from a random school in Colorado). This only becomes a problem after 5-10 years of teaching. A master's degree is not expected for new teachers, and isn't required to teach, but you may get some guff from school administration if you don't get one after you've been teaching for a while.
posted by zsazsa at 9:13 AM on December 10, 2009