Why won't the lineman move?
December 1, 2009 8:58 AM   Subscribe

Can anyone explain why the linesman in this video clip of the Florida/FSU football game last Saturday did not move as the play unfolded?

I am no football expert, but I do waste a lot of time watching it. But in the video, you will see a lineman on the right side (tackle? guard? I don't know) not even leave his stance as the play unfolds - every other player on the field is engaged in the play, while this guy sits there frozen. The quarterback even runs right past him.

I can think of no strategic reason for this to happen - has anyone out there heard a full explanation?
posted by RajahKing to Sports, Hobbies, & Recreation (13 answers total)

That's kind of surreal. The youtube comments seem to think it was a grudge of some sort, which is about the only explanation I can think of either. It's certainly not strategic, but he could be getting back at one of his teammates for something.
posted by echo target at 9:04 AM on December 1, 2009

If you notice, both linemen do nothing to stop the guy in front of them from rushing on the quarterback. They remain perfectly still. The difference is after the guy whips by them, the fellow on the left after a few seconds stands up and takes in the situation and then starts to move as if to help block.

I think it was a play and the fellow who didn't move simply forgot the rest of his assignment or something. Perhaps he was supposed to be a non-moving block that the quarterback could rely upon.
posted by Atreides at 9:13 AM on December 1, 2009

Somebody is mad at the quarterback. Guess who? lol
posted by andryeevna at 9:17 AM on December 1, 2009