Connecticut DMV Hell (Help me out since their system is useless)
November 19, 2009 8:44 AM   Subscribe

I recently got a speeding ticket and received a letter in the mail telling me I have to complete a driver retraining course. My last ticket was over 24 months ago, and the officer who wrote the ticket told me that because of this I wouldn't be required to attend any such course.

I've tried googling every term I can think of having to do with license points and their expiration but it seems there is no information of this sort available anywhere. When I try to call the CT DMV suspension hotline there is no option to speak to an operator, nor any information of any use to understanding this predicament.

On top of this, they ask in the letter I received that all business be done by mail. I can request my driving record and whatnot but by the time the paperwork comes through it will probably be too late to fight and my license will be suspended anyhow for not taking the course. (Must complete approximately 2 weeks before Jan 1)

I've read the Connecticut General Statute 14-111g and understand that, as I am under 24 years of age, when I receive 2 points on my license this course will be mandatory, but if the last point added to my record prior to this was over 2 years ago do I now actually have 2 points on my record?

So my question is really 2-fold: a) can someone explain CT DMV points regulations, specifically in regards to their removal (how long do points stay on a driving record - is there a follow-up procedure for this?) and b) presuming that the error is in the institution's hands, how can I get the impending suspension/retraining requirement rebuked ASAP? (who do I have to speak to, what sort of language will get the ball rolling?)

It isn't the course I'm necessarily concerned over, it's the fact that I must pay some private business about a $60 fee for the class, and then the DMV needs more than another $100 to reinstate my license (all this after I paid the $200 ticket immediately).
posted by jofuu to Law & Government (4 answers total)
 
First of all, relying on the word of a police officer about arcane regulations such as license points is foolish, so ignore all of that. There's nothing to be done there.

Second of all, you need to figure out if it's worth your time and attention fighting this. Your options are:

(1) pay the fees, take the class, and get on with your life, or

(2) retain counsel and pay much more in lawyer's fees than you would by choosing option A.

Chalk it up to a life lesson. Occasionally there are situations over which you have no control and which cost you money. It's usually wiser to choose the least expensive option when you find yourself in this position.
posted by dfriedman at 9:31 AM on November 19, 2009


According to this document: "Points remain on the driver's record for 24 months from the date of assessment."

@dfriedman I appreciate your advice. Hiring a lawyer is the obvious solution here but as you said, certainly more costly. However, I'm not interested in paying anyone, especially if according to the states own regulations my dues are paid and I should be free of this malarkey. I don't believe I would need legal counsel if I had the proper legislative documents on hand as well as a copy of my driving record.

This raises another question though... Is the only solution to go to court or is there someone in the department, whom I can illustrate the situation, who has the authority to make this go away?
posted by jofuu at 9:56 AM on November 19, 2009


From the statute:

(b) The Commissioner may require any motor vehicle operator twenty-four (24) years of age or less on the date convicted of a second moving violation, suspension violation, or a combination of both, as appearing on such operator’s official driving history as maintained by the Commissioner, to attend and successfully complete an operator retraining program as provided in section 14-111g-3 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies.

Sounds like it's your "driving history" that's relevant here, and not points. I think they use the points to determine whether to suspend your license. But perhaps the underlying driving record is permanent?
posted by monstrouspudding at 10:30 AM on November 19, 2009


Thanks monstrouspudding, I hadn't read into it as such.
posted by jofuu at 10:34 AM on November 19, 2009


« Older Formatting Differences in MS Word on Windows vs...   |   Help us keep the baby safe from pulling the g... Newer »
This thread is closed to new comments.