Your business is very important to us, just not important for us to do it right.
November 4, 2009 7:01 PM   Subscribe

Is the company I work for unusual or is most corporate data this messed up? Every month I see hundred and sometimes thousands of the same errors.

Anonymous because I have mentioned the company I worked for in previous answers. I work in customer service for a Fortune 500 company and I mainly clean up codes and things on accounts that are wrong. I've been there for several years but I am planning to leave. If I do, I want to know if I can expect the same thing in most other big companies. So, is this typical of your experience in larger companies, that clear-cut errors go on for years with no real attempt to prevent them?

FWIW These errors do not violate the law, but they do call into question most of the numbers my department reports, sometimes in our favor and sometimes to our detriment. Anyone speaking up about the errors is told, "Yeah we wish that other department would fix them, but they don't."
posted by anonymous to Work & Money (15 answers total) 5 users marked this as a favorite

My experience is, yes, there's a lot of garbage in corporate systems.
posted by dfriedman at 7:09 PM on November 4, 2009 [2 favorites]

Yes, the same thing is true of all corporations in some department or other, usually most of them. The public or those not-inside don't realize this because there are a number of filters between the results/products they get and the actual inner workings. I have consulted for 100's of firms, and no matter how cool, streamlined and organized the public face, there's always some ugly chaos in the back rooms somewhere, usually involving computer systems or QA.

That is, there's a saying about making sausage that applies here.
posted by rokusan at 7:28 PM on November 4, 2009 [1 favorite]

Frankly, I've never met data generated by non-programmers that wasn't completely fucked up. Even data generated by programmers is often messy.