Can I get a location?
November 1, 2009 6:36 PM   Subscribe

Improvisers: I'm an actor with some professional improv background. I'd like to brush up on my improv skills and get back in the game. Where should I go to train?

I spent time as a second string improviser for a well known improv theater. Did touring, corporate shows, understudying, and stuff like that. I'm also a well trained actor with some screenwriting experience.

I used to be a reasonably good improviser, but I had a depressive phase that coincided with joining an established group that was out of my league. Early on I had a bad night, and my usual resilience was lowered, so it became a spiral down. I always felt like everyone was waiting for me to do poorly. This was not entirely in my head as they were known to be tough on newcomers. I consistently underperformed, just kind of froze up and got boring and safe. I was not proud of my work. Since then improv has made me tense. Now I want to get back in the game.

I guess I'd be high intermediate level at this point. I want tough teachers and detailed professional level feedback in an environment where I'd be onstage a lot so I have no time to psych myself out or dwell on bad scenes. Ideally it would be an intensive program with improv all day long, for many days in a row. Anywhere in the States or Canada would be fine.

I was considering Upright Citizens Brigade or Groundlings, but to be honest I'd rather get really good somewhere else and then go audition for them and maybe make a good impression as a polished newcomer, rather than have them meet me as the broken old horse I am right now.

Anyone know of any really good intensive programs where a guy can get back on the improv bus?
Thx.
posted by anonymous to Media & Arts (5 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

A few of my friends did the IO Summer Intensive and loved it.

http://chicago.ioimprov.com/training/summer-intensive

Six hours a day, four days a week, for five weeks.