A ring....
October 4, 2009 12:41 PM   Subscribe

OK, I've searched all over the internet, MeFi and tons of blogs. I've learned a lot, but I haven't found what I'm looking for. I want to carve a simple ring design for my girlfriend, out of jewelers wax, then send it to a professional silversmith and have it cast. Now I could do it myself, but I neither have the space nor the equipment to do it properly. So yes I have seen and read just about every tutorial about DIY casting. So...anyone out there know where I could find an actual silversmith, only found one, they want a minimum of 25 pieces....
posted by tropikal to Clothing, Beauty, & Fashion (11 answers total) 5 users marked this as a favorite

Have you tried the alchemy section of etsy?
posted by kerning at 12:50 PM on October 4, 2009 [1 favorite]

The best place to ask is your local jewellery/jewellery repair store/watchmaker.
posted by fire&wings at 1:15 PM on October 4, 2009 [1 favorite]

I majored in metal smithing at University, and this is something I would have been happy to do for the cost of materials plus a little extra for my time and trouble. Check out the websites for the fine art departments of local universities and send an email to the metalwork instructors - they will be able to pass your info on to students who have the skills and ability to do this for you. It's highly doubtful that the instructor would recommend someone who couldn't do the job, and do it well - but obviously you'll want to take a look at his or her work before you seal the deal.
posted by Wroksie at 1:20 PM on October 4, 2009 [4 favorites]

Yeah, I agree with fire&wings -- just go to your local jeweler (the independently-owned kind, not the chain stores). Most do custom work and if you can find one that specializes in custom jobs, then bonus.
posted by pised at 1:23 PM on October 4, 2009