[guy filter] How can I stop loving her? How do I get over this? You're advice is greatly appreciated, guys.
September 19, 2009 6:52 PM   Subscribe

[Guy filter] How can I stop loving her? How do I get over this? You're advice is greatly appreciated, guys.

First, thanks to everyone who takes the time to read this, and to those who leave me your advice. I'm asking the guys of Metafilter, because as we all have come to know, the filter is amazing - and I wanted to get a strictly male perspective on things (to be fair, I'm also posting this in an exclusive gal-filter).

I've recently experienced a breakup with a girl I've spent the last year of my life with. She's amazing, wonderful, and I venture to say, we were perfect for each other. I'm a fairly recent grad, and I had to move a few hours away for the career, and it turns out the distance was too much (for her).

I've been in many relationships, ranging from casual to significantly serious. This was probably the most serious I've ever been in - I'd catch myself trying to picture what our children would look like, I put her on my life insurance policy (and I still can't bring myself to take her off - I want her taken care of, you know?), and I even began making long term plans around her. Usually when a relationship falls apart, I'd have the normal guy's night out, have a few brews and talk about how woman are plight on all mankind etc etc, and a few days later be on my merry way. I don't know why this one is different.

I can only phrase it as "heart-sick." Mind you, I'm no wuss. I'm a resilient guy; I've had the fortune of having a tumultuous life, and I've learned the lesson of rolling with the punches, picking myself off the mat and barreling through the next wall. I'm rarely phased by things, I guess I'm trying to say.