Oh, you've got loop pedals and a girl on violin? Big freaking deal!
August 28, 2009 7:02 PM   Subscribe

How can I find more of the music I like and what do I hate so much about the music I don't?

I especially like something similar to John Cale's Paris 1919 album, Brian Eno's Before And After Science album (not so much his ambient albums so much as his more rock-oriented albums), also Erik Satie's "furniture music" and David Bowie's Station to Station. I like the sort of 'intelligent' vibe that John Cale gives and the extremely recognisable motives of all of them. I am just getting into John Cale and this album just rocked my socks off. I like music that seems to have a meaning that takes many listens and many reads through the lyrics to figure out.

However, I also very much dislike most "modern" bands. This is getting to be kind of a problem, as my friends try to introduce me to their favorite bands, and I can never explain what I don't like about them. It just seems so boring, like background music that all blends into each other, even supposedly "innovative" indie-type bands that is on most college radio. It all seems a little droning and the vocal lines aren't "punchy" enough for me. But I don't know exactly what I don't like about it, and when said friends try to play me a song they think I'll like, I don't. There also seem to be a lot of repetition in the rhythm, which I like when The Fall does it, but when these newer bands do it, it all seems so redundant.
posted by lhude sing cuccu to Media & Arts (39 answers total) 13 users marked this as a favorite

In my experience, there is no good way to go about this....c.f. Pandora - apparently the music genome project is supposed to predict music you'll like, but for me, it doesn't really work.

The best solution, I think, is to just listen to shit tons of music. I have very diverse music tastes, however, so YMMV.
posted by Lutoslawski at 7:19 PM on August 28, 2009