Do smart men prefer bimbos?
August 17, 2009 10:03 AM   Subscribe

I am a successful professional woman, I want to date successful professional men, but they seem to want subservient types. Should I be looking for a subservient man?

The middle-aged, say divorced doctors & lawyers, they say they want to date intelligent, age-appropriate women, but I think that just may be for show to their peers, that they can actually get a woman like that, when in reality, they prefer just a pretty girl with a nice body who will not challenge them intellectually. Is this true? And if so, to balance the scales, should I just start looking for that in men?
posted by Goodgrief to Human Relations (51 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

Is that what you want in a man? Because if not, it seems weird to look for those qualities just to make a statement of sorts.
posted by oneirodynia at 10:05 AM on August 17, 2009 [4 favorites]

Is this true?

No. It's true of some people, and not true of others.

should I just start looking for that in men?

Only if that's what you want in a partner.

I think you need to rethink your criteria for dating, though. I see that you've tagged this as "lawyers" and "doctors"--there are lots of successful professional men who are not lawyers and doctors.

The kind of man who is comfortable with being a trophy-husband-good-provider is likely to be the kind of man who is looking for a trophy-wife-little-woman-arm-candy. You're buying into one half of a sexist equation and getting annoyed by people buying into the other half--that hardly seems reasonable.