I used to be an artist. No, really.
August 9, 2009 4:41 PM   Subscribe

Has anyone gotten back into a creative field after years in another profession? I'm contemplating this, but it feels an awful lot like jumping off a cliff. How did you do it; what were the pitfalls and successes.
posted by nax to Grab Bag (9 answers total) 6 users marked this as a favorite

Well, a lot of it depends on what kind of artistic field you're talking about. Some are a lot more competitive, fickle, and unpredictable than others.

Not having done this personally (except as a pastime), I'd guess that the best way might be to just do it on the side, but have a real job in the meantime to support yourself while you see if you're good enough to do the art thing for a living.
posted by TheSecretDecoderRing at 5:29 PM on August 9, 2009

It can take a while to get your groove back after not being immersed in creative work for so long. I'd advise taking on creative work as a sideline, and not be too surprised or disappointed if the work falls short of your expectations or previous standard. Also, don't expect that your style will remain the same as before; in most cases your style will change (speaking from a web/graphic designer's point of view).

YMMV, and good luck!
posted by titantoppler at 6:35 PM on August 9, 2009

It is quite a bad time to chuck it all to "be an artist". Are we talking about fine art? Graphic art? You have a chance if the creative field is one that translates to money--ie: advertising, animation, textile, etc..if you are talking about becoming a fine arts painter...WELL. you had better have a savings account full of money.