It's Business Time
July 29, 2009 12:20 PM   Subscribe

Most interesting hip-hop, country, and pop of the 2000s?

Songs that made you say whaaa? In a good way or a bad way.

Innovative or just weird.

EXTRA BONUS if they have associated dances! Because I like to dance.

(I am asking this question because I have been really out of touch with the zeitgeist since I graduated from high school in 2001 and there has been another thread recently that covered the other genres I like)
posted by kathrineg to Media & Arts (20 answers total) 6 users marked this as a favorite

I really loved Vampire Weekend's self titled album. Thought it was innovative and fresh. Kind of an indie rock/pop.
posted by Precision at 12:21 PM on July 29, 2009

I listen to mostly indie and electronica (like that other thread) but these are a few pop songs that jumped out at me in the past few years:
Katy Perry - Hot n Cold
Fergie - Glamorous
Miley Cyrus - See You Again (and more importantly, The Mae Shi's brilliant cover)
posted by telegraph at 12:38 PM on July 29, 2009

Also, you would be remiss to not check out The Hood Internet's mashups, through which you can satisfy your indie, pop, and hip hop desires in one fell swoop. R. Kelly vs. Broken Social Scene in particular is a good starting point, then check out the mixtapes.
posted by telegraph at 12:44 PM on July 29, 2009

1. pop - (this is as poppy as i get)
phoenix - wolfgang amadeus phoenix (my kid friggin' loves the first three tracks)
2. hip-hop
madvillian - madvilliany (top-notch album)
3. country
johnny cash - that boxset produced by rick rubin - i guess i could google that but lazyiness ftw
posted by rare_g at 12:53 PM on July 29, 2009 [1 favorite]

Daft Punk - Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger
MGMT - Kids (the music video is a big wtf)
posted by chalbe at 1:00 PM on July 29, 2009

Buck 65 hits two of you categories simultaneously: country hip-hop. And it doesn't suck too much.
posted by scruss at 1:07 PM on July 29, 2009